Written by Steve
Wednesday, 11 January 2012 03:21
PDF Print E-mail

Shenandoah Valley Social Services ( formerly the Department of Social Services ) has been a joint Staunton and Augusta County operation since legislation adopted in 1938 provided for the establishment of welfare agencies in each Virginia locality. Effective July 1, 2003, the jurisdictions of Staunton City, Augusta County and Waynesboro City consolidated their social services departments changing the name to Shenandoah Valley Social Services.  The mission of the Shenandoah Valley Social Services is the promotion of self-reliance and protection of citizens through community-based services.

 As members of the Foster Care Team, our efforts as Foster Families, Kinship Families and Adoptive Families play a key role in the protection of children who may be victims of abuse or neglect and in helping their birth families become self-reliant.

The Shenandoah Valley Social Services is divided into two broad program areas.

The Benefits Programs provide medical, financial, fuel and food stamp assistance to the citizens of Augusta County, and the Cities of Staunton and Waynesboro. These benefits can be paid from Federal, State, and/or local funds.

The Service Programs, provide the following services directly, or via purchase of service: Adult Services, Adult Protective Services, Child Protective Services, Day Care Services, Employment Services, Foster Care and Adoption, Intake, and Volunteer Payee Services.

More about our commitment to serving our community:

Top Performance (will open new window)

Award Winning Work (will open new window)

Last Updated on Monday, 10 November 2014 08:20

The Forgotten Initiative